What Makes a Good Setting?

What elements are necessary or important for you when using a setting? Or when designing one?

I’m running Blackapple Brugh for some friends and have basically no material yet outside the module itself. They’ve asked enough questions that I’ve thrown out answers to that I’m thinking it’s time for me to flesh out the surrounding setting.

So I’m looking for a list of key components to help me keep from missing something. This is my first time doing this sort of thing.

2 Likes

Sorry, I had initially replied with a popular worksheet for creating settings (Matt Colville’s My Campaign sheet) but I realized it doesn’t really apply if you’re starting from an existing module.

I haven’t read or run Blackapple Brugh but I assume it already includes a town and a dungeon? So you might be able to start by just making up a few other nearby towns and the name of the kingdom that they’re in.

Can I ask what kinds of questions the players are asking that you don’t have answers to?

1 Like

I always recommend starting small: You don’t need to flesh out the entire world or continent fully at first. Leave yourself some of those blank spaces for later should they come up! I might name a distant Region so I can start referring to it (“Oh, this book looks like it’s from the Legendary Library of Al-Tasura far over the Sea of Sorrows to the South”) but I don’t need to know much else about that place until the Players start getting interested in going there.