Do prep plotlines

For the last campaign I played, I tried a different adventure and campaign writing method to take the next step from the mystery and intrigue play style I’ve been playing for the last twenty years.

Instead of writing unquestionable facts that the players need to discover by looking at the right place, I created character templates and bits of information that I could give the players whenever or however they took action. I’m sure we all had the experience of prepping countless NPCs and locations that were never used. I kind of got around that problem by breaking down the components of the people and setting material I use during a session into smaller lists that I could pick and choose from whenever I wanted: name lists, rumors, ongoing plotlines, character templates (a purpose for one character). OSR already uses lists for random encounters, for example. I wrote an article that talks about this standpoint:

The article indirectly presents an adventure idea, and what I’m after is a) what kind of atmosphere you get from reading the examples and 2) how (or if) your brain started to play around with the ideas from reading the plotlines. If you don’t think the information given is enough, what is missing?

4 Likes

That’s a good article and has got me thinking. I run a lot of Dungeon World and it seems to me a very good way for me to prep for that (i.e abstract information on people and places, plus plotlines running through the world). Although DW is often played with a “collaborative world-building” angle, my players and I prefer it when the GM does most of the world-building. What you are describing in this articles is, I think, and handy skeleton for my prep (so thanks!).

In fact, your article reminded me of DW’s “Dungeon Starters”, which have a section called Sights & Sounds – basically your “abstract information” – along with DW’s Grim Portents – basically your “plotlines”.