Map makers let’s talk

I’m really interested in talking to other folks who are making maps, sharing maps and learnings with other folks and doing learning community type stuff. Who else is making maps? What kind of maps do you make?

8 Likes

What exactly do you mean with “learning community stuff”? My apologies if it’s normally obvious, English is not my first language. I’m a teacher using games, so if that’s what you mean I might be able to help. If that’s not the case I’m not sure.

At the moment I’m experimenting with hex maps as a past time, but I don’t feel confident enough to share anything I’ve really learned yet. With my kids I’m experimenting with Electric Bastionland’s node-based map design, for which I still need to adjust and write things in English before I can share it.

I’m dreaming about adapting the map design in “Fall of Magic” to teach about Mozes and Israël’s journey through the desert, but it might not be for this school year. Who knows though? Maybe I can find the time.

If you want to read more of my teaching/playing experiences you can find some of them here. (It also has my latest post which is about what I’m doing with hex-based maps.)

3 Likes

I use this method, modeled after Electric Bastionland to create large adventure sites/hex crawls. You can see a video example of it on Map Crow. Alternatively I use this method for collaborative worldbuilding. You can see a few examples here as well.

6 Likes

I’m very interested in what kinds of projects folks are working on for their various home games or projects. I am especially interested in science fiction or more modern maps at the moment because of my Spelljammer game.

I just like seeing and chatting about other folks projects/resources they like. I wasn’t familiar with that EB thing Yochai.

2 Likes