Scenario/situation construction theory?

Hi, so I’m new to OSR/NSR and interested in understanding scenario/situation construction theory. Can someone break it down for me or provide a link of some sort? Perhaps, I’m asking the wrong question or the right question in the wrong way? I’m open to learn and understand. Please help an old geezer out. Thanks!

2 Likes

Not saying this is the OSR/NSR approach, but generally speaking these are things I try to keep in mind that I’ve gleaned from various blog posts and ttrpg rulesets.

1. Information, lean towards giving the players more info than less.
  2. Choices, don’t have only one way to solve a problem.
  3. Consequences, choices have meaning and impact if they have consequence.

In terms of difficulty:

1. Variety, don’t try to match the difficulty to the players.
  2. More dangerous = more foreshadowing, not fun to have an instant kill trap that you had no idea about.

Another note on consequences, try to have variety.

• Immediate/direct impact on the players (gaining a new item, finding a key)
  • Local impact (information on the location the players are at, nearby area)
  • Global impact (large scope, setting, world stuff)

Here’s some other links I’ve found useful:

Hope this helps answer your questions!

3 Likes

Thank you. I appreciate the primer and I will read the articles. I’ll come back with questions. You can be sure of that :wink:

1 Like

Good stuff! I think this covers a lot.

The things I wanted to say it that to often seems like there’s no real scenario, just a location to interact with. That is to say that there is no immediate way adventure design thinks about what the story will be, who the big boss is, what story-beats need to happen. Instead the focus is on the story that emerges through gameplay. Because the rules are light(ish) in most OSR systems this is easy to roll with. As said above, consequences to actions drive the story.