Running Unique Settings

I’ve seen some good discussion about genre emulation recently, and it got me thinking about the challenges of running a unique setting in an rpg.

What differences do you see when running a unique setting instead of emulating an existing one, and are there any tips or tools that help you to do so?

One thing I struggle with is providing a visuals for the world. I am not a visual artist (my drawing skill is on par with a 10 year old’s), so I generally need to repurpose existing art at the table.

4 Likes

I think that genre and the expectations that go with it are what keep RPGs from turning into a class entitled “Introduction to [Specified Fantasy World] 101.”

The problem is that genre is also by its constitution constraining and repetitive, hence often stale.

We gamers go back and forth between genre and close emulation of content (media, etc.) held in common by the players on the one hand, and breaking genre constraints to make things fresh, on the other.

It’s the spectrum between highly bespoke settings like Tékumel and the most generic echo of “Elf + Dwarf + Halfling + Human in dungeon to fight evil and get rich.” Most gamers don’t hang out at either far end of that spectrum.

I think most players find middle ground by blending two common genres. Wizards + Dinosaurs. Ninjas + Cowboys. And so on. It’s a way to make the stale fresh.

To jaded old players like me, even those combinations are stale. It’s nobody’s fault.

Mostly the choice depends on how much work the players in a group are willing to do to get into a setting. Learn a conlang? Probably not. Look up some stuff about the 1890s? Probably at least a little.

3 Likes

Really interesting set of questions!

One challenge I see in running a unique setting is establishing expectations regarding how the world will function, so that everyone at the table feels they can interact with the world and have an understanding of what is likely to happen when they do.